i am creating the life i love.

dandelions. May 4, 2010

Filed under: activies,photos — mandy @ 11:40 pm

Yesterday I celebrated my 27th birthday. Birthdays don’t really mean a lot to me. It’s been years since I’ve had a party or really celebrated. I prefer things to be low-key and even though yesterday may have been a bit dull by someone else’s standards, I absolutely loved it. I spent the day with my boyfriend, Andy, and we had a few adventures :) Andy kept saying, “It’s your birthday. Let’s do whatever you want.” It’s been such a long time since I’ve relaxed enough to even consider what I want to do and at first I had a lot of trouble. I had the day off from work and even though I’ve always imagined what I might do on a day off that wasn’t a sick day, I really struggled at times to get into it and enjoy it. We started the day off with shopping at two different Unique Thrift Stores (half price Mondays!) and then took a walk around the neighborhood and stopped for lunch at a hole-in-the-wall hot dog place. We played video games and ate cake and…picked dandelions!!

I had mentioned to Andy that I would be picking dandelions for dandelion syrup and he brought up the idea of dandelion wine. We took a walk over to the library near my house and spent a while picking dandelions. It was a beautiful day and I took the time to admire the smell of the grass, the fat, lazy, buzzing bumblebees and the bright blue sky.

The wine should be ready in two weeks or so. If it comes out okay I’ll share the recipe.

Andy’s birthday is on Thursday. I told him we’d celebrate Saturday when we are both free. Another day of birthday adventures is ahead!

 

3 Responses to “dandelions.”

  1. Nessa K Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY I LOVE YOU OK BYE XOXOXOX <3

  2. ECW Says:

    I didn’t know you could make wine out of dandelions- I have the perfect unkempt backyard for this enterprise! Your hair looks gorgeous in that photo & I miss you!

  3. webmistress Says:

    I had no idea you could make wine or syrup out of Dandelions either, wow amazing and happy Birthday to you glad you enjoyed yourself. No matter how big or small of an event as long as you have fun.


Leave a Reply

